Your University, One Photo at a Time

Red Telephone Boxes

Red Telephone Boxes

There’s an interesting setting on my new camera which allows me to accentuate one colour, whilst draining away all other colours. A gimmick, I know, but sometimes it allows you to present a familiar scene in a different light.

I’ve found that red is one of the best colours to play with while walking about, if for no other reason than that it isn’t that popular of a colour in nature and the world around us.

The above scene was taken from next to the John McIntyre Building, facing the western corner of the North Front of the Main Building. I could’ve framed the picture better and taken a bit longer in setting it up, but I like it as it is, nevertheless.

In writing this I remembered that the Glasgow Daily Photo blog also featured these phone boxes in a similar fashion back in the Fall (Autumn as I’m apparently supposed to call it), from a different angle. You can find that picture by visiting the photo blog at glasgowdailyphoto.wordpress.com.

I’m always experimenting taking better photographs in an effort to learn and become a better photographer, so there might many more “artistic” shots in the future.

[Opinion Poll: Black or White background?]
Click on the photo above for a larger version.
© 2009 GlasgowUniPhoto.com. All Rights Reserved.
2 responses

  1. Jen

    Ah, the original pic is the one that got me to start bookmarking your blog/s, I remember loving it.

    June 11, 2009 at 7:59 am

    • A fantastic picture, but unfortunately it wasn’t mine, but rather it was by Jackie over at http://glasgowdailyphoto.wordpress.com. The Glasgow Daily Photo blog was what got me started on this photo blog in the first place.

      June 11, 2009 at 9:10 am

Leave a Reply

