Your University, One Photo at a Time

Welcome to the University of Glasgow!

Welcome to the University of Glasgow

It’s September, Freshers’ Week starts in 2 weeks on the 14th, and lectures begin the following Monday on the 21st. Students old and new will be taking over the Glasgow University campus after months of quiet. For those postgrad and Ph.D students who enjoyed the quiet campus over the summer, I hope you didn’t get too comfortable, as all hell will break loose on the 14th. =)

The photo above was taken a few days ago outside the Wolfson Medical School Building. The XIV International Numismatic Congress is being held at Glasgow University this week between August 31st and September 4th. More info here. Sorry about the poor quality of the shot, I snapped it quickly as they were taking them down while it was raining.

As it’s a new month, it’s time for a new poll. I have a few larger ones lined up, but for September I’ll ask about the student unions: Which Student Union(s) do you belong to (or use to belong to)? I ask this because the choice of picking between the two main unions, the QMU and the GUU, as well as dabbling in the smaller ones is a choice which many Freshers’ will be facing towards the end of this month.

There will also be a mini poll for the first two weeks of September. Come Freshers’ Week, should I post a single picture per day, or a collage of several pictures? I’ll be asking this question for the first 2 weeks of September, until Freshers’ Week starts. Poll below:

As Freshers’ Week ’09 is just around the corner, help me out by having your say in the poll below!

[Poll #4: Which Student Union(s) do you belong to (or use to belong to)?]
Click on the photo above for a larger version. Please rate the photo below!
© 2009 GlasgowUniPhoto.com

Share

2 responses

  1. Jackie

    I’m trying to make the most of campus for the last two weeks before chaos descends! Mind you, the builders in Bute Gardens/the Library have been driving me up the wall all summer so I’m used to noise anyway. You’d think there was nothing left of Bute Gardens to dig up, but still they keep on drilling! But I have enjoyed not having to walk behind r-e-a-l-l-y s-l-o-o-o-o-o-w students in the corridors of the ASB for a few months!

    September 1, 2009 at 4:27 pm

    • I feel your pain with the drilling and construction work on Bute Gardens and around the Adam Smith Building. The construction work on the Great George Street end of the Hetherington Building last year began at 6am every morning and lasted for the entire academic year, I lived right next to the Hetherington Building last year (the dumpster they used was outside my bedroom window).

      They’re working on making the level 3 annexe of the library look nicer and brighter now, so I guess that makes it somewhat acceptable to be making noise. Watch, next they’ll probably start work on the rest of the library annexe! I hope your office is on the Lilybank House side of the building.

      Oh, and I’ve made a mental note to shuffle my feet faster while in the Adam Smith Building! =)

      September 3, 2009 at 4:12 pm

Leave a Reply

