Your University, One Photo at a Time

The Memorial Gates at Night [Photo #100!]

Memorial Gates at Night

Today marks the 100th Photo at Glasgow University in Photos! Statistics-wise, the numbers are rising and I’m happy to be getting valuable feedback and a nod from several people at the University. I’ve been contacted by the Library staff and the Archive Services staff with kind offers of assistance. Some time in the near future I will have another week-long Theme Week featuring the library, who have offered to collaborate with me for it. (If you have anything from the Library that you would want to see featured during that week, do let me know in the comments below or through the contact form.) I’m also going to visit the Archive Services building soon on a fact-finding mission so I will be capable of offering you, the reader, more information about the University of Glasgow (basically saving you a trip to the Archives or to Wikipedia). I’ve also received visitors from the Glasgow University Student Network page, as they kindly posted a link to this blog on the Student Blogs page, as well as the Glasgow University Business School news page, which listed this blog under External News and Blogs.

I’ve featured the Memorial Gates before, but only by showing the detail for “Smith” and “Adam Smith”. This is the first successful photo of the whole of the Memorial Gates that I’ve managed to get, albeit I did inadvertently leave out King James II and William Turnbull. Oops! (For the record, the thing in the photo that kinda looks like the moon is just a glare form the street light just outside the shot.)

As this is a special 100th photo post, I won’t dwell on the Memorial Gates, instead directing you to my previous posts on the Memorial Gates, and to the fantastic University of Glasgow Story website by the Archives Services. Oh, and the Memorial Gates now has a Wikipedia entry as well. Interestingly, whoever wrote the article decided to use this blog as one of its sources. Go figure.

Anyhow, that was photo number 100! Number 101 will come tomorrow, number 102 the day after that, and so on until I graduate some 1000 photos from now in 2012!

As Freshers’ Week ’09 is just around the corner, help me out by having your say in the poll below!

[Poll #4: Which Student Union(s) do you belong to (or use to belong to)?]
Click on the photo above for a larger version. Please rate the photo below!
© 2009 GlasgowUniPhoto.com

Share

4 responses

  1. Congratulations on the #100 – I was just thinking today that they ought to be paying you for all this great publicity! But it’s great that you’re getting the recognition anyway :) We are lucky to have such a photogenic university.

    September 8, 2009 at 10:09 am

    • Thanks! Just to prove to anyone who ventures onto this blog that I’m not actually paid by the University to post photos which show the pretty side of the campus I should post more photos of the less photogenic buildings and corners of the University. :) (Adam Smith Buiding comes to mind, and the unsightly area between the Adam Smith and University Gardens.)

      September 9, 2009 at 3:40 pm

  2. Congratulations on your 100th! It’s quite a milestone. Looking forward to discovering more of the University through your blog. My son starts as a student there next week, but I’m sure he won’t be taking many photos at first!

    September 8, 2009 at 9:51 pm

    • Thank you! My intention is to cover most of the events and student life at Glasgow University, and as such you can find out what’s going on at your son’s University! (Second-hand stalking?) :) It’s a lovely, fantastic University, I hope your son enjoys it as much as I do!

      September 9, 2009 at 3:34 pm

Leave a Reply

