Your University, One Photo at a Time

Welcome to Garscube

Welcome To Garscube

Standing on top of an old tree, the above man of steel (with a hula hoop?) welcomes visitors to the West of Scotland Science Park and the Garscube Sports Complex up on Maryhill Road, a 45 minute walk from the University. (They say 45 minutes, but who in their right mind would want to travel the entire distance on foot when there are buses that go on Maryhill Road?)

What bothers me is that I swear I’ve seen a very similar looking statue somewhere around campus or the University student halls but I just can’t figure out where. I’ve only been up to Garscube once in total so I’m not just remembering this same statue twice. Any ideas?

[Poll #5: What is the Nicest Building at Glasgow University?]
Click on the photo above for a larger version. Please rate the photo below!
© 2009 GlasgowUniPhoto.com

Share

2 responses

  1. rolo tomasi

    ‘but who in their right mind would want to travel the entire distance on foot when there are buses that go on Maryhill Road?’

    Perhaps because the kelvin river walkway is a fascinating eco-corridor and microcosm in itself, and one of Glasgow’s great intimate spaces. Don’t tell me, your overweight, don’t know how to walk without a dog or an ipod, and don’t know how to respond to a world outwith the shrivelled human context.

    sure, take the bus.

    June 9, 2010 at 4:52 pm

    • Guess I should have been more specific in the post. What I meant to get across was who would want to travel the entire distance on foot between the University and Garscube on a daily or oft repeated basis, as opposed to ever travelling the trip by foot, even once. I guess you could walk from the University to Garscube along the banks of the River Kelvin, sure would be a picturesque walk, although it would probably take up quite a bit of your day if you did this every time you had to make the trip between the two spots. Hence, the bus.

      For the record, I’m not overweight, I don’t have a dog nor an iPod, and the Kelvin River Walkway is one of my favourite parts of the West End.

      June 22, 2010 at 8:30 pm

Leave a Reply

