Your University, One Photo at a Time

BOB’s Second Shiny New Lecture Theatre

BOB's Second Shiny New Lecture TheatreBoth of the lecture theatres in the Boyd Orr Building have now undergone the same make over, a £1 million refurbishment programme. On one hand it’s a lot nicer and more comfortable, but on the other, gone are the ancient “no smoking” signs, the movable (scrollable) chalk boards, and the surprisingly comfy leather seats. Do you prefer the new lecture theatres, or long for the old ones?

Click here to see what the lecture theatre used to look like. More photos here of the old and the new.

[Sept-Oct 2010 Poll: What societies have you been a member of at Glasgow University?]
Click on the photo above for a larger version. Please rate the photo below!
© 2010 GlasgowUniPhoto.com
3 responses

  1. Raj

    Personally, I preferred the old lecture theatres. The old chairs were really quite comfortable and I liked the pull-out stands for taking lecture notes on. I don’t think the new benches are wide enough to comfortably do that with.

    I’m not convinced by the new whiteboards either.

    Mind you, I could just be an old fart, who thinks things were better in his day :).

    PS: it seems that the entries in this blog are coming into my RSS reader completely randomly, since this entry, which I see was written back in October, has only just appeared!

    November 12, 2010 at 10:25 am

    • There’s actually nothing wrong with the RSS feeds, the problem’s at my end. Due to slight technical difficulties, i.e. my laptop was useless for the summer and the beginning of term, I’m just catching up on posts. Currently I’m about a month behind, very regrettably, but I should be up to date quite soon. Which is good, because I have a few theme weeks that have been ready and prepared for months and months now.
      Apologies for the lack of daily posts and further apologies for the onslaught of photos about to come to get up to date.

      November 12, 2010 at 12:33 pm

  2. Raj

    Ah, that explains it. I don’t mind getting a bunch of updates in one go, it just means there’s a few more cool photos and interesting write-ups about the Uni :).

    November 14, 2010 at 12:59 am

Leave a Reply

