Your University, One Photo at a Time

Amphora in Professors’ Square

Amphora in Professors' SquareIn the middle of The Square Professors’ Square is the above sculpture, depicting an amphora/urn/vase. The inscription on the pedestal reads: “Presented by Professor Sir Graeme Davies, Principal 1995 – 2003, and Lady Davies.”

After several hours of extensive research online and a bit in the library, I can’t find any concrete information on the above. I figure it dates to 2003 or later, and some sources hinted at it being the work of Andy Goldsworthy (which seems likely, as his works do bear a resemblance). One day I will figure the whole story behind this sculpture and when I do, I’ll post it on this site.

[Nov-Dec 2010 Poll: Should the University Library be open 24 hours a day?]
Click on the photo above for a larger version. Please rate the photo below!
© 2010 GlasgowUniPhoto.com
2 responses

  1. Raj

    I don’t know how helpful they might be, but you could maybe try contacting the University’s publicity corporate communications department and see if they know anything about it.

    Also, I thought you were going to start calling that square “Professors’ Square”, not just “The Square” ;).

    January 14, 2011 at 9:59 am

    • There’s actually a few things I’m in need of clarification for, so I think I might just send them an email, just in case they know, or can direct me to some sources.

      And yes, I was supposed to start calling it Professors’ Square. Thanks for catching that, I’ll change it. =)

      January 14, 2011 at 3:01 pm

Leave a Reply

