Your University, One Photo at a Time

Happy New Year 2011!

Happy New Year 2011!

The last year has been quite tumultuous for this photoblog, with technical difficulties (broken laptop), misplaced photos, website issues, and problems juggling all my extra-curricular activities. There are a lot of very interesting photos I have saved up from the last year, and the coming months will be quite interesting in terms of what I’ll be posting here. I’ve been doing a lot of catching up on the blog, so hopefully we’ll be back to daily posts!

This is one of my first attempts at light writing, and much of the work was done by my fiancée Nora, who is slightly visible in the photo. All I did was set the camera on a very long exposure, on a tripod, and said “GO!”. Nora then had the job of writing GLASGOW, with a LED flashlight, letter by letter, backwards. I dare say she did an amazing job at too! We did consider writing GLASGOW UNIVERSITY, but I think we’ll practise simpler light writing a few more times before we get to that.

Without further ado, Happy New Year!

[January-February 2011 Poll: Which of the University's student media do you follow?]
Click on the photo above for a larger version. Please rate the photo below!
© 2011 GlasgowUniPhoto.com
One response

  1. Excellent image. I do love the effect you get using this technique. Think I may have some fun with the kids later trying this. Great pic and post!!

    June 9, 2011 at 9:50 am

Leave a Reply

